From ArtDeadlines.Com | Printer Version

Margo Harris Hammerschlag Biennial' $5,000 Direct Carving Competition
By National Association of Women Artists

U.S. National Deadline: November 23, 2018 – The National Association of Women Artists, Inc. (NAWA) announces a call for artists for its upcoming ‘$5,000 Margo Harris Hammerschlag Biennial Award’, to be on display between July 11-August 8, 2018.

The National Association of Women Artists, Inc. (NAWA) welcomes American women Sculptors, whose medium is direct carving, to apply for this prestigious award. Applicants must be 18+, a U.S. citizen or a permanent U.S. resident. All work must be original with a minimum of 75% produced by direct carving.

JURORS (download Prospectus for complete bios)
Aileen Fields‘ work has been continually exhibited in American art galleries. She has had solo museum exhibitions at the Bergen Museum of Art & Science, Paramus, New Jersey, and The Appleton Museum of Art, Ocala, Florida. She has also been represented in over 25 group exhibitions across the United States.

She has taught stone carving at Sculpture Center and The Educational Alliance in NYC and is currently teaching at The Compleat Sculptor in New York City, one of the largest sculpture suppliers in the world, which she co-owns with Marc Fields. She is represented by CFM Gallery and Six Summit Gallery.

Karen Kettering Dimit, artist and curator, co-founded the LIC Arts Open, a multiday arts festival in Long Island City, NYC, now in its seventh year. She has juried and curated many exhibitions for the festival, as well as curated a large exhibition of mosaic artists for the Gallery at Penn College. Ms. Dimit was the Chair of the Sculpture Division at the Pen and Brush for many years, curating shows and jurying new members.

Among Ms. Dimit’s honors and awards, her sculptures have received Best in Show Award in several national and international shows, and recently she received the Contemporary Innovation Award at the Mosaic Arts International juried exhibition, and the Local Legend Award from the LIC Arts community.

An award of $5,000 will be given to a woman artist whose media is direct carving. The final decision will be based on artistic excellence. The winner will be posted on the NAWA website and the NAWA Facebook page.

An application fee of $75 made payable to the National Association of Women Artists, Inc.

Download Prospectus for details. Award winner will be notified in February 2019.

The National Association of Women Artists (N.A.W.A.), the oldest women’s fine art organization in the country, is a vibrant community of professional women artists that strives to support its members and women artists at large through exhibitions, programs and education. N.A.W.A. members represent all areas of the visual arts including painting, sculpture, photography, print-making, encaustic, video art, installations and mixed media.

National Association of Women Artists
315 West 39th Street
Suite 508 – gallery
Suite 1210 – office
New York, NY 10018
t: 212.675.1616

© Copyright 2014 by ArtDeadline.Com